Kids’ sleeping habits

I was one of those people who looked down on co-sleeping.  Avni slept in her crib separate from us from day1, not just because I was determined to raise her following textbook methods but also because I was scared to have an infant lying next to me. What if I rolled over the little one? So, she slept in her crib from day one. She started sleeping through the night from very early stage and I was very pleased with myself and my textbook methods. Then she started waking up in the middle of the night. That was attributed to her wanting solids and we started her on solids. Things went back to normal. we slept better. then when she was aroung 8 or 9 months old, we moved her to separate room in her cot bed with barriers on both sides. She hated it. she started crying. we lost our sleep. Unable to cope with sleep deprivation we took her to our bed when she was around 11 months old! we all got our sleep back. I did try Ferber method first time  just for a day and I couldn’t do it. Tried again another time, and again I quit it the first day itself. Since then it has been co-sleeping in our household. we got our sleep back. When Aaron arrived, we had problem in accommodating both the kids in co-sleeping and again I was scared to have an infant lying next to me. but, I was little flexible this time.. Didn’t care whether he slept in his crib or in my bed as long as it was easy on me.  Until couple of weeks ago Aaron was sleeping in his crib and in our bed interchangingly suggested by our convenience. Now we are going to move him to cotbed as we have disposed off our crib. we have to wait and see how this is going to go. but, the good news is  Avni is sleeping all on her own now! no crying, no fuss, nothing. More importantly, no Ferber method followed! Very pleased. I am sure she will come back to our bed sometimes but I think that is fine. I am going to be even more relaxed with Aaron’s sleeping habits. Thanks to Avni.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Planethalder
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 16:00:34

    That’s great news about A sleeping so well now. Eventually most kids sleep well no matter what sleep technique parents use. The time goes so fast.

    Reply

  2. Jay
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 06:52:15

    Why did you remove the feminism post?

    Reply

  3. premalatha
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:00:27

    Jay, I am not sure why I wrote it in the first place. So I have made it private. The comments are saved in the private post.

    sorry about that.

    Reply

  4. Jay
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 00:47:25

    You don’t have to be sorry 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

