here is one for our own voting

Before Avni, I was in disagreement with people posting photos of their babies in the internet. I still am. Except that I am one of those people who post photos of their babies in the unsecured internet. Now it has gone worse that I post videos. I often go into a dilemma to stop or to continue posting Avni’s photos. I once asked people to tell me whether they want to be in my flickr contact list so that I can have her photos but within my closed circle. But many still check my blog to see how Avni is doing, but haven’t shown their interest to be included in my flickr contact list. It is possible that they might have missed the post. this creates a problem for me, a pleasant problem that I have an excuse to show off, I have to post Avni’s pictures. Few days ago I was going through my posts and flickr photos. though I have loads and loads of photos in flickr, flickr albums couldn’t match the memories or a display of her life & development the blog posts with photos could bring back. So now I am thinking I must include at least one photo for every post about Avni. But, if you have forgotten, let me remind you that I am still in disagreement with people posting pictures of their babies in the unsecured open internet. I know. 🙂

Now, you vote.

Leave your comments too. I can edit the polling. so, leave your comments if you want different or more answers.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sudha
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 16:38:03

    you can flickr blog too 😛

    Reply

  2. WA
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 17:06:18

    Difficult one. I can’t even make my own decisions, let alone others. I give up

    Reply

  3. Planethalder
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 20:23:29

    I am such a bad mommy because I post photos of Little P but none of my husband or myself. I am wondering where the cut off age will be when I no longer post photos of her. I think perhaps 1 year old but perhaps sooner. I have to really think on this… At the moment I think, “Well, babies kind of look the same” but that is a silly way of thinking.

    Reply

  4. Dubukku
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 09:46:12

    not to influence your decision but ..my 2p worth.

    Perverts are all over. I wouldnt give up my happiness for those odd numbers. Otherwise I feel I am acknowleging their success. Also cyber laws are very strict here in UK and I am ready to take them over if need be.

    Romba bayanthomna veeta vitte velila vara mudiyathu, and I know you are not of that character so little surprised with this !

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 16:52:55

    Dubukku, How are you? Convey our regards to Thangamani and children.

    I have seen too many paedophile related TV-stuff and movies that it scares me. secondly, I don’t have any right to leave Avni’s identity &information open. thirdly, i do not want my daughter to hate me later. 🙂

    Actually, I saw this new feature (voting) in wordpress. Wanted to try it out. This issue has been always there in my mind. As I have mentioned in the post, flickr albums don’t march the blog posts with photos. blog posts don’t match videos. I *want* to continue posting her photos and videos (I am just an ordinary proud mom 😉 ), but I also think it is wrong. 😦

    I need to give a lotta thinking into this. as you say, Romba bayanthomna veeta vitte velila vara mudiyathu (copy&pasted). What am I going to do when she starts accessing internet herself? What am I going to do when she goes into chat rooms herself? But, mommyblogging is trendy and popular these days that it is a goldmine for the paedophiles. If we give out information as well (along with her photo, worse video), such as, my baby doesn’t mind strangers (hypothetically speaking), her favourite stuff, mom/dad’s information which can be used to attract children, we are making their lives easy and ours/our babies’ lives vulnerable. so goes the story of my dilemma.
    .
    @PH,
    We are all just proud moms with gorgeous babies. 😉 🙂
    .
    @WA,
    That helps!
    .
    Sudha,
    Isn’t flickr blogging is about photography and related stuff? have to explore that. but i am assuming that that also has same issues that either it gets open to everyone or to my limited contact, but yes it will have some text associated with it.

    Reply

  6. IBH
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 19:09:37

    am confused myself…didng post her photos for a loooooong time…but now i have started..but i dont blog much though now a days…btw i opted 3rd option 🙂 just so you know 😉

    Reply

  7. swarna
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 21:39:20

    dubukku sir… you are contradicting your own sentence..

    “Perverts are all over. I wouldnt give up my happiness for those odd numbers.”

    I look at it like this: it’s not so much about our happiness when we have the whole responsibility of the lives of our children.

    “Also cyber laws are very strict here in UK and I am ready to take them over if need be.”

    Yes cyber laws are strict here in the UK but no parent would want their child to go thro’ that mental agony and scar for life even for a moment…than go thro’ the route of taking them over if need be. (especially with the kind of tabloid and press coverage such things get here in the UK)

    premalatha, sorry to hog ur comment space…it’s just my opinion.

    happy depavali wishes to you,B&A

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 18:38:06

    @IBH, 🙂
    @Swarna,
    No probs about hoggins space.
    Wish you all Happy Deepavali. Convey to P&K. How is K? She must be big now. Wow. Happy Deepavali again.

    Reply

  9. Dadoji
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 22:57:00

    P,

    This is totally your choice and I do not have any suggestion for you. You know that I used to post kiddie-photos when I blogged. That would stand if I were to start blogging again.

    The only downside to you not posting Avani’s (yes, I will spell it with an ‘a’ in between) photos on your blog would be that I wouldn’t get to see any but I will live with it. I will just mail you for some photos once in a while. 😉

    She is growing up to be a woman with a lot of spunk. Give her my love and blessings.

    Love
    D

    Reply

  10. Dubukku
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 10:34:12

    Premalatha – we are fine and hope the same with you Avni and Balan.Just to clarify, my thoughts were only on photos. Not on information sharing. As you have rightly said I too deem giving out information as very dangerous. I would only vote for photos not information.

    Swarna – What I meant with that was those odd numbers are not confined to one particular area (web etc) or geography. Again as mentioned above to Premalatha I am against information sharing. I had a post on this in 2004 in my blog and had a example on how easily one can correlate information in blogs to narrow down to the individual. I had to take that example itself even though I had only fictious names 🙂

    Reply

  11. Premalatha
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 10:43:56

    Dubukku,

    That is very interesting. It never occurred to me that I can post photos but keep the information out. It just didn’t occur. Thanks. That gives me something to think about. In fact I was thinking about all the babies in advertisements.. Yes we see them but we don’t know anything about them. that is what you mean. don’t you?
    gimme link to your post.

    Reply

  12. Premalatha
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 10:53:40

    Dubukku,

    found your post with “deleted” message! no probs. I get what you mean.Thanks.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Shape sorting « The normal self
  14. Premalatha
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 20:46:38

    Dadoji,

    I think I added you to my flickr contact list. if not, i will add again. I am still haven’t decided about blog posts and photos.

    Reply

  15. ammani
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 13:10:19

    “I don’t have any right to leave Avni’s identity &information open.”
    Prema, we take decisions on behalf of our kids all the time. Right from what they’re called, to what they eat, their religion, their schooling…pretty much everything is decided by us. Then why this reticence about posting pics online?

    Reply

  16. Premalatha
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 13:30:22

    that’s a very good point ammani. more confusion now. 🙂

    Reply

  17. The Visitor
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 04:21:36

    I didn’t vote because my option was not listed.
    Do they have an option called other with a textbox for a response?

    I am confused:

    – I too think posting pictures of babies (on the net) isn’t advisable.
    – But I do like many blogs that have posted pictures of their babies (Boo, ITW and Artnavy to cite a few, which I wouldn’t have been able to see, had the blog authors followed my policy).
    – Being anonymous, I wouldn’t have got access to most privately posted photos etc. (and rightly too)

    But I still think that posting pictures on the net is undesirable. It leaves one vulnerable.

    I agree with Dubukku that information sharing can lead to easy tracking of the identity of the blog author. But I am not sure if it is dangerous, unless there is a stalker, who starts stalking after reading one’s blog, though such a possibility certainly exists.

    Reply

  18. wiki
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 08:35:06

    The rivalry was obvious and was given serious consideration as a captain’s pick. Scott has not computing, cloud yet been identified. The end of 2012 will see a pop-up window that prompts them to adjust their settings or stick with their old settings. Away from computing, cloud the golf course, buying a set of clubs that is too hard, too soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

