Avni waves bye bye and claps too

 Yep, Avni waved bye bye nicely today. I posted about teaching her to wave bye bye. I guess she read it 😉

Now the pressure is to teach her to blow kisses! My niece, who is younger than Avni crawls nicely.  One of the babies in our antenatal group claps nicely. And one baby in our baby group flips through the pages of a book nicely. another baby listens to whatever her mother teaches and tries to imitate it. good for her. Avni simply refuses to look at me when I try to teach her anything. She pushes me away and moves on to different things than the one I am showing her. I am blaming it on the sugar in her desserts. Will I ever be able to enjoy whatever my baby does, without feeling pressured to catch up with other smart babies smart developments?

My baby waved good bye today. Yaay!! Avni points with her pointing finger sweetly. While I am updating Avni’s developments, let me note it down that she says amma nicely. not referring me though. She says nnna nnna too. (just curious, why tamil babies say amma? do English babies say amma too, which they, the English, misinterpret as mumma? Does that mean, all babies talk Tamil first? Does that mean, Tamil is the natural, original, truly ancient language for all mankind? 😉 )  When she is angry or upset, you don’t want to be near her. I bet all those words are swear words telling us off.

Edited to add: Avni clapped today. Yaay!!

Avni is 8 months, 3 weeks old or 37 weeks and 6 days old.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WA
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 21:17:45

    I am glad i am not Avni, this is all too much pressure i think. Then again i am sure she is clever enough to do her own thing and ignore all this stuff 🙂

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 10:31:51

    WA, it is me the poor girl. 😉 i am the one made to feel inadequate.
    Have i told you about the block building, cup stacking and shape sorting pressures?! 😦

    Reply

  3. Asha
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 05:13:59

    Oh, come on! We say Amma in Malayalam too! 😛

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 08:13:12

    my cousin (18 years younger than me) said her first swear word when she was at the crawling/walking stage. 😮 I’d taken something from her – not a toy, but she wanted it as a toy. She said “SH*T!” perfectly clearly… then never said it again. (until a teenager lol)

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 16:30:43

    Asha, it was sarcastic, meant to be funny. 🙂 I like malayalam. it is a very sweet language.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

