the M word

The M word. I haven’t read any of the posts linked here. So, I don’t know what is being discussed in the blogworld at the moment. It just so happened that I went to somebody’s house couple of days back for a pooja or a ceremony which involved God. I forgot that I was having periods and remembered it later.  I generally respect others feelings and their practises, but I honestly forgot that day. Then there was a question in my head, if I respect their feelings and stay away from this pooja am I not giving in to their beliefs? If I stick to my beliefs, am I not disrespecting their feelings? I wasn’t sure which one was better/right. I kept quiet without telling anyone and attended the pooja.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. desiGirl
    May 27, 2008 @ 16:43:59

    I think this comes under the category of “live and let live”. You don’t follow the procedure, fair enough but do not expect anyone to agree with your way too. Like, I don’t follow th 3-days-alone rule but my granny does, esp with my uncle doing the sabarimala run every month. So on those days, I stay away from visiting them and that’s that. That way, I feel, I am respecting their choice without compromising my belief. I know, I could just go and not broadcast my body functions to anyone, but the point is – I would know, wouldn’t I? And that doesn’t sit well with me so I abstain.

    Well, that’s my two bits on this.

    Reply

  2. Imp's Mom
    May 30, 2008 @ 08:09:13

    second what desigirl has to say..

    Live and let live.

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 17:41:19

    I think this comes under the category of “live and let live”.
    .
    That is what we all want too DG.
    .
    You don’t follow the procedure, fair enough but do not expect anyone to agree with your way too. Like, I don’t follow th 3-days-alone rule but my granny does, esp with my uncle doing the sabarimala run every month. So on those days, I stay away from visiting them and that’s that. That way, I feel, I am respecting their choice without compromising my belief.
    .
    Err. When you stay away don’t you compromise your beliefs?
    .

    I know, I could just go and not broadcast my body functions to anyone, but the point is – I would know, wouldn’t I?
    .
    Yes, I would know. But, I don’t feel anything when I know that I didn’t tell them.
    .
    And that doesn’t sit well with me so I abstain.
    .
    Fair enough.
    .
    Well, that’s my two bits on this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

