changing nappies can be fun

I don’t have much to post about. But have some photos of Avni. Is it acceptable to post just photos, though I think I should stop posting her photos in the internet? I didn’t want to post her photos and wanted to select a blog name for her. I ended up calling her ammakkutti (the name suggested by Michelle) at home and Avni on blog.

DSCN5992

Avni has forgotten about roll over attempts, but has started it again today. Not full attempt, but she just lifts her butt. My mother called me when I almost finished this post that she has started attempting to roll over again. Took viedoes. Only to realise that it was little dark and needed the lights to be switched on. the video is not very dark, but could have been better if the lights were on.

She has grown out of her first set of clothes. 

She touches and explores the objects hanging from her gym. I have videos of these actions as well. My mother tells that there are too many photos and videos of Avni.

She is a sweet heart when we change her nappy. She lifts her butt up in the air and holds it there until we clean her up and she gets a dry nappy.  

She poos only once in a day. Mostly before noon. I didn’t like these kinds of information before I became a mum myself. Those who are not mum yet do not know the value of “poo only once a day” and that too “before noon” pattern. That too when you have to be economical in everything (I am jobless, remember?) Avni gets huggies before noon, that stupid sainsbury’s nappy after poo, and then pampers’ sleep tight nappies for the night! Asda’s George and Morrisons’ were great all rounders and we were using them until last month. We bought Sainsbury’s thinking that it is going to be similar to Morrison’s and ASDA’s. But Sainsbury’s is not very good. Since we have opened it, we have to use it anyway, so we are using it only for the wee. As she sleeps through the night we are using “sleep tight” nappies. Then there were few offers for huggies, so we bought huggies…

She sleeps through the night, most nights. We put her to bed late (10pm to 12pm) so that she wakes up early in the morning (6am) and we can call it that she sleeps through the night.

She has got prickly heat kind of rash around her neck. We are moisturising her like maniacs.

I still got loose tummy. I am wearing belt all the time. I cannot walk without belt yet. I am referred to a physio to get help. My GP mentioned about “tummy tuck” but we didn’t discuss about it.

I used think that I will go to baby groups, keep in touch with antenatal group etc. etc. but now I do not have enthusiasm to do any of those.

DSCN5639 I also used to think that I will resume my swimming after delivery, but I do not think I am going to yet. I haven’t started dieting either. I have to lose eight kilos to get back to my prepregnancy weight.

I thought about blogging more about Avni too, not to keep every record of her development but to win some prizes, if there are any, for the best mommyblogging. I even thought of contacting our local newspaper to host me, but then I haven’t got a single decent post on mommy-blogging for the sample, so I haven’t contacted them yet.

I have been doing some interpreting assigments around Hemel. This has helped me to get back on the wheel first of all, and gives me a chance to talk to to people.

I have started looking for a proper day job. Hope I find one soon.

Avni is two months, two weeks and six days old (or 11 weeks and 3 days old).

PS: The photo of the pinky princess was taken on 22 March 08, when Avni was two months and two weeks old. The one with me was taken when she was a week old (16 Jan 08).

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Planethalder
    Mar 29, 2008 @ 23:20:56

    Premalatha, you say you put her to bed around 10pm onwards – do you think this is why she sleeps through to the morning?

    Or does she sleep earlier in the evening and then you wake her up for a final feed before she sleeps properly from 10pm.

    Also, how many naps and feeds does she take during the day? Would love a timetable of a typical day and night for her, but realise I am asking too many questions 🙂 so if you do not have much blogging time then not to worry 🙂

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Mar 30, 2008 @ 10:03:25

    I love the photo of the Pink Princess, but the one of you two together is even better. You look… SMUG. 🙂

    Good to see you looking smug-mother-cat. 😉

    Reply

  3. Asha
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 09:21:12

    The first pic is too cute..
    Before delivery I too had thought about resuming a lot many things, but had to put it on hold. That’s called ‘babydom’. 🙂
    I am not sure whether a belt really helps to tighten the tummy. My OB had said that it’s of no use. Thank God, I didn’t have to use a belt. My tummy got tight before I even started thinking about it. The only I did was breathing exercise.

    Reply

  4. Premalatha
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 11:36:55

    @PH, She plays until 10pm. Many nights we put her to bed when she still is in playing mood. We also massage her just before putting her to bed. We have to apply moisturiser anyway, so we massage her body as well. Then she drinks her final feed, which is warm formula milk (no. 2). She drinks no.1 milk during the day. (btw, she is mostly on formula).
    She does take two naps between 11pm to 6pm, sometimes shorter, sometimes longer. Her regular interval between feeds is 3hrs. sometimes she is hungry in two hours, depending how much she drank, how much she vomited (yes, she is a sicky baby), etc. We do not follow a strict routine, but we write down everything to help us remember the time for the next feed and the time for the next nappy change. Writing down everything greatly helped us during the first phase when Balan and I jointly looked after her during nights. when he wakes up, he can read from the notes about what happened before and when. When I wake up I can continue without having to disturb him.
    I think, helping her to play more and thus keeping her awake more during the day helps her to sleep through to the morning. Also we have to strictly follow the night time routine to help her remember that it is night. Keep the room dim lit, less noise, and do not play with her however play mood she is in. It is difficult to keep a stiff face when she coos, smiles, laugh and plays, but we have to do what we have to do. It is not strictly a stiff face we keep, but we try not to encourage her to play after putting her in her crib. Crib means sleep. that is the message.
    .
    @Michelle, Thank you. 🙂
    .
    @Asha, Thank you. 🙂
    The belt I am using is not to help tighten my tummy but to hold it so that the weight is distributed to the backbone. The belt has two strips at the back, mocking the backbone. It is comfortable and has velcros. It is not the tight elastic type. Only after a friend described about the elastic one, I realised there are different types.

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 13:35:31

    PH,
    I forgot to mention that we just responded to her demands. we didnot impose any routine on her. even now we do not force her to take naps (during the day). if she takes nap fine, if not, fine too. babies naturally fall into routine, I heard.

    Reply

  6. SilentOne
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 16:27:26

    Why dont you write about the birth premalatha ? Surely that would be a good sample to use..

    We did not have a routine either and fed our daughter on demand, let her take naps when she pleased but a lot of my NCT friends used to wake up their children if they slept too much during the day…I guess children slowly establish their own routine though. Now my daughter has a routine which she follows almost with clockwork precision and it came naturally.

    Reply

  7. srilatha
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 11:31:20

    ஹலோ பிரெம்ஸ்,

    தமிழ், தமிழ்

    ரொம்ப பிசியா?? தமிழ்ல பதிவு போட்டா உடம்பு இளைக்க ஒரு ஈசி வழி சொல்லுவேன். இல்லன்னா NOOOOOO. எப்படி வசதி???

    குட்டி ரொம்ப சாஃப்ட்னு நினைக்கிறென். உங்க “மாவிளக்கு” பதிவு எல்லாம் இப்பதான் படிச்சேன். இதை எல்லாம் தமிழ்ல போட்டா எவ்வளவு நல்லாருகும். என்னமோ வெள்ளைக்காரனுக்கு புரியப் போற மாதிரி ஒரே பீட்டர்தான். ())))))))))).

    ஸ்ரீலதா

    Reply

  8. Tharini
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 03:05:05

    Hi Premalatha…is there any way to reach u by email?

    Reply

  9. madura
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 12:43:11

    Congratulations! Prax pointed out to me about your baby blogs and I could read them only today – and read them back in one stretch. Very realistic, very readable, informative and sensible. Please keep writing on these lines more!

    Reply

  10. Premalatha
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 17:39:23

    @SilentOne,
    Will do on birth story, but it is not going to be an interesting as it was a C section.
    I love routine. 🙂
    .
    Srilatha, done. 🙂
    .
    Tharini, see your inbox.
    .
    @Madura, Thanks. Will try to live upto your words.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

