keeping myself sane

It has been difficult to keep myself sane that it needed some conscious effort a lot of time. I took the decision to clear that exam I have been just talking and talking but doing nothing about, to take my mind off and to break the monotonous life of changing nappies and the feeding cycle. Passed. Judge me all you want. I have a worrying thing about Avni, the result of which I can only know tomorrow, but for now I am happy that I passed this exam. Judge me all you want.

I will update on Avni after tomorrow.

She has been trying to roll over.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kowsalya
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 14:54:36

    Prema,

    I am not judging.. I am admiring.. Here I have not done anything to improve myself after Abi’s birth and feeling bad everyday and there with such a small kutti Avni you have cleared the exam.. Go Prema Go!.. Continue to be an inspiration to me 🙂

    Kowsalya

    Reply

  2. sudha
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 18:44:19

    cool 🙂 ..hope all’s fine with avni.

    Reply

  3. mumbaigirl
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 19:32:40

    Who is judging you? Congratulations on passing! You’re one hell of a person! Hope Avni is well.

    Reply

  4. radhika
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 14:17:35

    “Who is judging you? ” my sentiments exactly! you don’t stop being yourself just because you have a baby. in fact you just get better! 🙂

    well done 🙂

    Reply

  5. WA
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 14:22:16

    Not sure who is judging you. Even if they do, why should you care. Hope everything is well with Avni and congratulations on passing

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 11:20:23

    Hi All,
    Avni is fine. Result came as “all clear”. phew!

    Reply

  7. silentone
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 16:28:27

    Not sure if you heard that song ‘ Kuch to log kahenge, logon ka kaam ha kehna’. Dont let it get it to you and congratulations on passing and glad to hear about Avni too..

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:28:41

    Kowsalya,
    that was a very easy one. 🙂
    .
    Sudha, Avni is doing great. thanks.

    Reply

  9. Premalatha
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:52:17

    MG, Radhika, WA and SilentOne,
    One of my acquaintances did a similar thing (leaving her infant with her mother when she went to clear an exam). I remember her saying that everyone commented that what a bad mother she was who did not devote her time 100% towards caring for her child instead she was selfish enough to think about her self improvement. She was all guilt soaked when she talked about it. She at least took her child to the venue, so that she could breast feed her before and after the exam. I left mine with my mother at home instructing her to stuff the kid with bottle feed. And there was this eye test for Avni the day after my exam day. If found positive for Cataract, they would have suggested surgery for her. I was stressed about that, but wasn’t worrying too much as we observed that Avni could see, focus at objects and follow moving objects well.

    Reply

  10. Premalatha
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 13:54:33

    MG,
    Thanks for the compliment. 🙂
    .
    Radhika,
    Thank you.
    .
    WA,
    thank you.
    .
    SilentOne,
    The sond does ring a bell. Thank you.

    Reply

  11. WA
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 10:49:45

    “instructing her to stuff the kid with bottle feed”

    LOL. You left her with a responsible person, so stop beating yourself up over it. Trust me you will go crazy if you devote 100% of your time to Avni, so do whatever feels right. BAH I ought to shut up, not sure why I am handing out advise like I know what I am talking about. Glad she is okay

    Reply

  12. Premalatha
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 12:00:28

    WA, you are welcome to hand out advises. I sure will let you know when I don’t want it. 🙂
    Thanks.
    She is doing fine. Her smile and her sleeping pattern are getting better everyday. I am happy. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Life as a mummy « The normal self

Leave a Reply

