Momma has the magic touch

I am still not used to the word “amma (mother)”, referring me. Sometimes I tell her that I am her akka (elder sister), as that is the word I am used to being referred. (I am akka for all my brother’s friends too, so I am quite used to that reference). When she cries, I tell her,”wait akka is coming”, then I have to correct myself and stop and blink for a minute to realise that I am her amma!!

Still I could calm her down in her half sleep but in her cranky crying mood by just holding her hands and stroking on her forehead. Wow. First time I felt the magical moment.

What about Kuttima (litlegirl) for her blog name, because that is what I call her most of the time. other names are, ammakkutti, illaakkutti. Her crying sound (ungaa) sounds like amma or illaa to me, so I call her ammakkutti and illaakkutti.

*ammakkutti and illakkutti do not have meaning. kutti in general means little.
*ungaa is baby crying sound

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 11:12:55

    okay okay.. translations for the foreign reader please? 😉

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 12:13:29

    michelle, done the translation. 🙂

    Reply

  3. srilatha
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 13:14:48

    respected madam,

    pls go & see the comments on your previous posts also. we are all there to think about u but you are not even replying to our comments. very bad.(Vellaikkaranaukku mattum bathil podum prem’s iy vanmaiyaakaa kaNdikiren)

    Reply

  4. Premalatha
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 13:19:18

    ha ha. 🙂

    Srilatha, ungakitta thappikka mudiyuma naan? last post-ல நிறைய கமெண்ட் இருந்ததால அப்புறமா வரலாம்னு விட்டேன். போன போஸ்ட்ல உங்க கமெண்ட் பார்த்ததிலேர்ந்து எனக்கு அப்பப்ப ஞாபகம் வந்து தனியா சிரிச்சுக்கிட்டிருக்கேன். இன்னும் சிலமணி நேரங்களில் அதில் பதில் எழுதிடறேன். இல்லாட்டி இங்கயே வீட்டுக்கே கம்போட வந்திடுவீங்க போலிருக்கே. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Michelle
    Feb 22, 2008 @ 11:01:35

    Thanks Prema

    mmm… I’d go for the shortest to type (I’m lazy!:D ), but for cute sounding I like ammakkutti.

    Reply

  6. srilatha
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 10:08:54

    பிரேம்ஸ்,

    அது!!! அந்த பயம் இருக்கட்டும்.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

