Anniversaries and milestones

I am very bad at doing anything special for anyone. Lazy. I was planning to change that for my daughter sake. but laziness has won.

Anniversaries
1. 4_weeks_old day went with a little comment in my blog mentioning that it was 4 weeks old day
2. 3oth day went hectic with me crying all day. (family business. can’t come clean.)
3. one month anniversary went with no interest shown by me or her father as we have already missed such important days.
She turns 5_weeks_old by tomorrow.

Milestones
1. She focuses on objects. I can’t remember when she first did that, but going through her photographs tell me that she must have done that when she was one week old.
2. She moves her eyes (and head) following a moving object. Again I failed to note it down when she first did that. As she has become an expert now, so she must have been doing it for sometime.
3. She recognised me yesterday. Can’t say it was a proper recognition of pattern/mother, as I think it was purely a circumstantial one. The situation was, a) she was hungry and half fed, b) her father sitting next to her was not picking her up despite her telling him to do so. So when I walked in asking her did she want to be picked up, she stopped crying, turned towards me, waved her hands with excitement and did some cooing and all, as if she recognised me. Her father tells me that I am her supply and she smelt the supply, hence the excitement!
4. Baby’s day out: yesterday she went out with her father for a stroll to get some fresh air. Today I took her out for a stroll.
5. She tries to chew her hand.

I have not been taking photos since her third week. In my defence, she looks the same.

Her sleeping pattern is erratic. She slept through six hours last night for the first time. I didn’t do anything special to get that happen. That stroll could have been the reason.

She enjoys her baby gym and her bouncer.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Planethalder
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 19:52:55

    And how are you, Prema?

    Reply

  2. WA
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 17:46:08

    Hi Prema, hope you and the little one are well.

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 19:59:24

    My parents used to stick me in the car and drive round the neighbourhood. put me to sleep EVERY time, apparently.

    Come to think of it… I still fall asleep in moving cars. Oh, as a passenger! Not driver.

    Reply

  4. the mad momma
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 14:26:10

    🙂 its good to have you back Prema! She is adorable… and its cute to see you doing update posts!

    Reply

  5. mumbaigirl
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 14:42:39

    Hope you’re better now and the reason for the crying is being dealt with

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 19:02:35

    @PH,
    I am doing alright. I am still largely not_very_mobile. not the C section, but my loose tummy hanging and pulling which gives back ache. Have been out to the park for a walk (10 min). but that’s all I have done.
    .
    @WA, thanks. we are doing a lot better. she is asleep on my shoulder as I type this.
    .
    @Michelle,
    she starts crying when she comes back home 😦 night routines are getting better compared to day outine.
    .
    @MM thanks
    .
    @MG,
    certain things never change! As they say, we can choose our friends but can not choose our family members 😦 . Husbands can be divorced, what can we do with others?
    I am doing better though. Thanks.

    Reply

  7. radhika
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 13:27:01

    “I am still largely not_very_mobile. not the C section, but my loose tummy hanging and pulling which gives back ache. ”

    hope you are getting enough support for your back when you breastfeed. that’s reason#1 for most delivery-related backaches.

    and yes, tiny, 5-10-minute strolls are the BEST way to get them to sleep a little longer! athri is almost 15 months but it holds true for him even today!

    as for missing the milestones, join the club 😐 i wanted to do so many things for him and ended up doing nothing. give it time. wait for your body to recover, and your mind will be leading you again 🙂

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 17:18:42

    Hi Radhika,
    I used a belt when we went for the walk. yes, i use cushions and pillows to support my back. but when I am moving around the house I don’t use any support. it is hassle to have the belt on when I am moving and off when I have to sit. so i do not use it. I think my back ache is mainly because of that (no support when moving around).
    //as for missing the milestones, join the club//
    🙂
    Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

