Contractions

Not sure whether it was true contraction or brixton hicks, but I had a very regular pattern yesterday. Tightening of abdomen accompanied by something that can be called pain as it did make me lose breath, make my eyes close and make me unable to answer or engage in normal conversation. I generally do all these when I am in any pain to severe pain. I generally go silent and do not say anything when I am in pain.  That thing happened for every ten minutes starting from 4:30pm yesterday. It didn’t stop until I went to sleep. I could easily slip into sleep though. I have been getting it again this morning, but I am not observing its pattern now.

37 weeks, 5 days. (officiallly according to the dating scan, 38 weeks finished and 39th week started today)

Update:
Just had bloody show at 11.23am. Anitha says that it took two weeks for her after the bloody show to go into labour.

 […] 37th week […] I lost my mucus plug, a very big thick brownish red mass of mucus.

But mine was not as big as that. It was just a little and was periods like reddish mucus. Had two contractions after that. Had nice shower after seeing the show. I am just going to make a note of it with its time of occurrence. Going to ring the delivery suite to inform them, knowing that they are going to ask me to stay calm and read a book or go for a walk. Balan is informed. But, I can drive if needed and if the pain is within bearable range. Taking a cab is also in the option. I have to look for cab number and keep it in the vicinity now.

Update2 (1.38pm):
Have been having back labour, but the pain is very much within my bearable range.
Have talked to delivery suite. I am asked to monitor myself, as expected. But, the lady (may be midwife) noted down all the information I gave. The lady on the other side of the phone was nice.

Baby is moving well.

Update3 (4.00pm):
Talked to the delivery suite again and they have asked me to come in for a check up, as the interval between contractions has come down a lot. It was 4/5/6 minutes apart when I was talking to them and it has come down to 2/3/4 now when I am typing this. Balan is on his way home to take me to the hospital. Still not sure whether I am going to be admitted today, as it all depends on the width of dilation.
Pain is certainly bearable. It has so far been easy on me. Drinking herbal tea. Tried to sleep, but as I have to monitor the interval of contraction now, I decided against sleeping.

Update 4 (05.00am):

I am pleased  to inform you all that Premalatha gave birth to a little girl at 12.34 am this morning(08/01/08).  Prema is recovering fine(she had C-section) and the little one looks stunning.  I just came back from the hospital to have some nap.  She will write in details soon.

Balan

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Prenatal depression « The normal self
  2. Anitha
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 15:36:47

    Did not log on to internet for the last 2 days. Looks like I missed lot of action. The big 1st bday party was over on saturday, sunday was spent cleaning up. Tell us the good news soooooooooooonnnnn and with pictures. Birthday post, will try to update something soon. I am all so excited for you. Prenatal depression – happens, like you said because I was home 3 weeks before labor and had to listen to stories from lot of mommies, home – clean & tidy – nesting instincts. you are right on track.

    Reply

  3. Anitha
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 15:38:29

    You are blogging when you are in pain? WOWWW! You have it in you to try vaginal delivery girl!

    Reply

  4. B o o.
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 16:12:05

    The bloody show and back labor? Where have I heard that before? 😉 May be the baby will arrive soon! Good luck with everything. Keeping my fingers crossed!

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 16:16:54

    Boo, yours happened within short duration didn’t it. That is scaring me. I am hoping this latent phase goes until at least balan comes back.

    Reply

  6. WA
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 08:06:04

    Congratulations Prema.

    Reply

  7. asha
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 10:53:39

    Hey, Congrats!!!! Celebrate!

    Waiting for pics..

    Reply

  8. Ag
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 14:21:23

    Congrats !!
    ..Ag

    Reply

  9. neha
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 14:26:21

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  10. Silentone
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 14:30:42

    Congratulations. I nearly missed the update because it was part of this second post..Have fun with your little girl.

    Reply

  11. Anitha
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 15:56:54

    CONGRATULATIONS! I too nearly missed the news because the old post was updated. PICTURES pleeaaassseee.

    Reply

  12. chandra
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 18:47:09

    congratulations

    Reply

  13. yaadayaada
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 06:25:09

    Congrats!

    Reply

  14. Poppins
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 10:45:30

    Congratulations to the proud parents!
    I have been checking everyday for updates now..

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Here is my story « The normal self

Leave a Reply

