Comment for Ammani’s post

As my comment is too specific, and too long, and a total rant, I thought I should post it here rather than taking up ammani’s comment space.

Ammani,
my only problem with this C word is, practise anything you (you means the public) want, don’t tell me I (I means anyone) am bad if I don’t do it.

C word or not (I mean, I do not know whether they imply it is the culture or not), majority of Indians, particularly females are driven by the “wanting to be good” factor. They try to achieve it by chinnak kodu (short line) periya kodu (long line) method. Particularly these mothers (I can only talk from my current situation). All angelic mothers. All angelic women with perfect uterus who got knocked up (stealing the word from Random Vignettes) easily (they don’t tell the clomiphene they took from their raasi doctor), had perfect enjoyable pregnancy which they miss now apparently, delivered their child perfectly through natural method (with epidural assistance of course). Then comes the horror story of long labour again to reinforce their angelness that how sacrificing they were through such horrific situation.. all horror stories about the labour, midwives being bad, doctors being bad, NHS system being bad…… Oh, no, they don’t tell you that elective C sect was not available to them, do they? Would they have said NO to elective C sect if it was freely easily available to them in “phoren land” (UK and USA)? The NRI mothers who have given birth through natural process are apparently superior mothers than the elective C sect mothers in india (and che che, what kind of  mother who tries this in phoren land), as they are cheap mothers who choose “painless” method. again the same question, Would they have said NO to elective C sect if it was freely easily available to them in “phoren land”? OK, some might have said no, or might claim that they would have said no, but how many of them? wouldn’t the statistics for elective C sect and natural delivery be different if elective C sect was freely and easily available to them?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Planethalder
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 11:53:59

    Hi P, A quick question – have you asked for an elective with the NHS and they’ve said no, and if they continue to say no will you go private?

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 12:05:32

    Hi PH,
    .
    No I cannot go private as I do not have that much money. I will go for natural delivery, if NHS doesn’t give me an elective C. But I assure that I will not claim “angelic mother” tag. 🙂
    .
    I am talking to my consultant. He has said no so far. But that is expected. I still have got time. I am hoping on my persuading abilities to convice a docator who is in this business and have been convincing all mothers for the last 20 years to go for natural birth.
    .
    My antenatal classes are starting in about ten days. That is about how to cope with the natural labour and to take the fear off me, unlike the horror stories I have been hearing so far. So, hopefully it might convince me to go for natural delivery too.
    .
    In fact until last week i was for 50-50 for both methods. Even when I went to see the consultant i wasn’t very particular about elective C. So, didn’t try hard. In fact Balan was more for natural method, but didn’t attempt to convince me as he knows he is not the one who is going to deliver.
    .
    Now the preference is slightly towards elective C sect, (including Balan’s preference) though I have not ruled out the natural method, not because I may not have the choice, but within my preference itself.
    .
    I will not go for epidural though. Will post on that later.

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 12:49:55

    If I had done my homework and had selected C sect before (28th week), I would have gone to India instead of bringing my parents here. It would have saved atleast one ticket. Now I cannot fly. I must ask my consultant whether I will be allowed to fly. I have to read on risks involved in flying after this stage.
    Stupid me.

    Reply

  4. Silentone
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 14:45:08

    Hi P, just another view.. not every labour which is natural needs to be awful and long. Mine was brilliant – I had rented a TENS machine and that helped me immensely and the pain was not something which was unbearable. I too wanted a C section, but after hearing a couple of horror stories and time for recovery, I persuaded myself to keep an open mind.

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 19:52:04

    Hi SilentOne,
    I had read your labour story before and read it again after this. Thanks. I think I will go with TENS machine too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

