Officially warned

28th weeks finishes and 29th week starts tomorrow. Officially this is the start of third the trimester, so I am informed. I declared the ending of the first trimester also sooner than it was official. Talk about being impatient!

10 kilos of weight gained so far. My midwife has officially warned me to watch out my weight. She should have given me the hint halfway as well. (Balan has been hinting me all along. What kind of man is he who to tell his pregnant wife to stop eating when she is happily eating?!). Now I think it is unfair. The third trimester will make me gain another 5 kilos whether I like it or not as the baby is just 1 kilo now but before it comes out of my belly it has to become 4.5 kilos, the average weight of the baby according to the British standards. It is officially declared as well that my baby is not a big baby. So what is there in my bump that makes it that big? Don’t hint me that it is the food I have been swallowing.

Expected total weight gain should be 10 kilos for the average weight of the baby of 4.5 kilos – British standards.

Expected minimum total weight gain should be 12 kilos for the average weight of the baby of 3.5 kilos – Indian standards.

Mine will be 15 kilos total gain unless I start dieting from now. It will be more than 15 kilos if I don’t stop eating, which I don’t think I am going to. Midwife told me that baby is not a big baby, which means it is normal baby of average weight. As the midwife is British, the average weight she means must be 4.5 kilos.

Came home after seeing midwife, looked for my kesari (suji ka halwa in hindi) stock in the fridge to comfort me. Balan has swallowed it already, as it was the best kesari I have ever made and he was sure that it was totally unrepeatable by me. (So do I. 😦 ). Baked some garlic bread. As garlic bread is no replacement for kesari, it depressed me a little, I was tempted to make some kesari. Controlled myself and cooked some aviyal for that night (yesterday). Eventually made some kesari today, which turned out to be very close to my best kesari. It is in the fridge now. It must be the Balan’s genes living inside me asking for kesari. I don’t like sweets, remember?

All these Internet sites are informing me rather scaring me that the bump is going to grow really big from now. Obviously they have not seen mine. I am scared that it might explode.

*Kesari (suji ka halwa) is a sweet dish made from semolina soaked in ghee (other name for fatty greasy liquid) and sugar.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mumbaigirl
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 22:23:09

    mmmm. Could i ask for some by post?

    Reply

  2. Vidya
    Oct 31, 2007 @ 21:08:32

    I just love anything sweet and kesari is one of my favorites 🙂

    Happy trimester… Just go with the flow .. dont bother about anything and be happy. I dont think, I need to tell you that … but just in case 😉

    Reply

  3. Planethalder
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 23:56:26

    What wonderful news – the beginning of your third trimester. You deserve to eat in order to celebrate – hurrah!

    Reply

  4. Premalatha
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 13:00:24

    MG,
    Sure. From next batch. 🙂

    Vidya,
    I generally do not like sweets. I was surprised when I liked kesari and besan ka laddu during this pregnancy. Basan ka laddu season has gone now. It is kesari season now. 🙂 Thanks. Sometimes I do have to try my best to keep myself happy. That is when I end up cooking and eating. Thanks.

    PH,
    It is good news that it is already third trimester, isn’t it! Thanks PH.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

