Want Healthy

Although I am keeping a brave front, all I am worried about at the moment is a healthy baby and a successful delivery with no forceps or vacuum sucking… it scares me even to look up on these topics. I do not know what they mean other than their literal meaning. Every morning after a long night sleep if she doesn’t kick me, I am tempted to poke my tummy to make her move to see if she is doing alright. I run to make my coffee banking on caffeine’s talents to wake her up. Sometimes she wakes up before me. I run to make my coffee to give her the morning coffee she always asks. 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Balaji S Rajan
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 12:50:03

    Prema,

    I am glad that you are enjoying each and every moment of your pregnancy. This particular feeling or thought of whether the baby is healthy, arises to every Mother. That is the speciality of motherhood. So please do not be worried. We wish you and your baby remain healthy and you have a safer delivery. Your safe delivery is my next wish and you are quite knowledgable to overcome all this. Please ask Balan to call me any time 24 x 7 in case if he needs any help.

    Reply

  2. WA
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 18:32:17

    Worrying about everything sounds perfectly normal. As to feeding her with coffee hoping to wake her up when she is happily resting, does that work? Anyway, not that I am an expert or anything, but am just wondering is that likely to make the little one hyper though. Have fun, not long to go before the sleepless nights arrive 🙂

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 11:06:59

    Worried mum prema.. it’s kind of cute. 😉

    Reply

  4. mumbaigirl
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 14:29:18

    hmmm teaching her coffee addiction at an early age!

    Reply

  5. DesiGirl
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 14:39:40

    hey!
    p was ‘helped out’ by suction – his head was too big!!! i tell you – science – too much or too little – is a big nuisance. reading abt scary things during preg must, IMHO, fall under the same category. so read abt the nice stuff and dont worry abt the scary stuff. cross the bridge when u come to it.

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Oct 27, 2007 @ 09:13:48

    @Balaji,
    thanks.

    @WA,
    Don’t know for sure whether the caffeine works or not. Still I drink my morning coffee. Today she hasn’t kicked a lot. I am tempted to associate it with my less caffeine intake today. 🙂 Seeing the word “hyper” in your comment got me hyper tensed, and I reduced my coffee intake today. 🙂 Thanks. Looks like the time is indeed going to fly from now on, as there are few plans to sort out and they will take my mind off, by the time I get back to my idle-self to think and worry, I think she will have arrived. Parents are planning to come. Need to sort out the visa now.

    @Michelle,
    Don’t ask. I can’t believe myself that I am turning into this caring creature. Not my personality. 🙂

    @MG,
    Aww, the nice aunties protecting her from my bad habits already. 🙂

    @DG,
    Thanks. Since I know P, now I know that suction doesn’t affect. Thanks. that really helps.

    Reply

  7. Anitha
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 19:27:57

    Hi Prema,
    Was here couple of times last week, but did not find time to comment. It is very normal to worry, I was paranoid during the whole term of my pregnancy. You won’t believe we had close to 6 ultrasound scans, only 2 of them were medically required.
    “Caring creature” – not you?! wait till you have your little princess in your arms.
    Vacuum was used on Nikki 7 times, he was a bigggggg baby(9 pounds), nobody asked me anything, I had a birth plan written down that I had given to my OB-GYN, and I thought all the decisions will be made by me. He had some external bruises for 2-3days on his scalp and was ok after that. Everything will turn out to be good, dont worry.

    I hope you know this already. If you feel scared because of lack of movement, have a sweet drink(i had orange juice) and lie on your left side. You will feel some movement in the next 15-20 mins, if not immediately. The logic is, the readily available glucose from the sweet drink reaches your baby almost immediately, gives her energy if she is lethargic and makes her move.

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 12:54:41

    //nobody asked me anything, //

    ahh!! I am planning to give them (and Balan) strict instructions. Hope they respect that.

    //If you feel scared because of lack of movement, have a sweet drink(i had orange juice) and lie on your left side. You will feel some movement in the next 15-20 mins, if not immediately.//

    Thanks. I didn’t know about orange juice. Some drink glucose.

    She kicks me hard when I sing!! LOL. I think I can use that. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

