I am what you ate mother

The child develops its taste based on what she gets in her amniotic fluid. Food item such as garlic, which have strong flavour, gives its  taste (or flavour?) in the amniotic fluid itself, which trains the child for that taste. If the mother changes her diet suddenly during her breast feeding, the child may dislike the milk and hence dislike the breast feeding, as the milk also carries the flavour or taste of the food mother eats and the child can differentiate it. The taste palate of the child depends on what the mother eats during pregnancy and what the child is fed during its early days.

I am eating very hot spicy food and very less sweet items. Tamarind + chilli is my favourite combination.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Silentone
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 10:09:57

    I was like this too :), eating spicy food during my pregnancy and not eating many sweets.. but my daughter seems to like sweets !!! I had to tone down my spice levels during breast-feeding though as it was affecting my daughter..

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 15:22:48

    Will have to wait and see. Balan likes sweets. If his tastes are passed down in her genes, she might like sweets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

