Breast feeding soul mate

I have found my breast-feeding-soul-mate. Yes. Let me explain.

My beautician (what?! for me?! yes, even if she is doing just my eyebrows (and under-arms), she is still my beautician), told me that she refused to breast feed as she thought it was yucky. I felt that I am not weird and I have proof that I am not alone.

I came back home and asked Balan whether I am allowed to refuse to breast feed. Knowing me well, he gave the right answer, “whatever you feel sweetheart”! But he quickly walked away. 😦

This is the one topic I did not put my head working on it and I have been going with the by default what everyone does method. Now that the topic has entered my head, I am not sure what I am going to do. I have not decided on anything yet. I am not going to think about it yet.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DesiGirl
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 14:50:23

    one of my colleagues decided from the very beginning of preg week 1 that there was no way in hell she was going to. fair enough. but it is one of my lasting regrets that due to some complicated reasons, i couldnt feed P as long as I would have wished. Keep an open mind and decide after you see the baby. Who knows? the maternal urge will take over the decision-making from you!

    Reply

  2. WA
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 20:11:37

    Hope all is well and you are enjoying the pregnancy. As to the breastfeeding part, why not just go with how you feel then rather making decisions now. And as to the critical people, ignore them, put your feet up and enjoy the pregnancy, sleepless nights are around the corner 🙂

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 09:10:09

    DG, WA,
    Thanks.

    WA, thanks again. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Premalatha
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 10:37:19

    Hi DG, WA,

    I am going with your suggestion. I am going to wait until I see the baby. Thanks again. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Silentone
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 10:12:57

    It is one of my lasting regrets too that I could not feed my daughter for longer than I did. All I would say is have an open mind and decide once you see your daughter..you do find yourself making decisions which you would not have imagined once you see your child !!!

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 15:18:58

    //All I would say is have an open mind and decide once you see your daughter..//

    🙂 Yep.

    Reply

  7. Anitha
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 19:52:57

    When I was in my teens, I had resolved I would NEVER EVER marry, lest have a child. Later when I moved to 20s and fell in love, marriage became a reality, but both of us were not keen on babies. I thought I would adopt one if I ever wanted to have one. One of the main reasons for not wanting to have my own baby is I felt YUCK thinking of breastfeeding. It felt like an animal.

    Fast forward, I have successfully breastfed Nikki for 10 months, I tell you it is not an easy thing, needs lot of patience and commitment. Though sometimes I feel like a cow, knowing this is the BESTest nutrition I can give to Nikki, I did not even think of the second best option. Thankfully we did not face many issues, only a few. There were lot of frustrating times, but when you see the baby… mmm… I am going to tell you the samething… decide after you see the baby… better if you can make the decision before labor, because feeding the baby in the initial 1-2 hours after birth is very crucial for kickstarting the hormone production for lactation.

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 12:43:24

    //but when you see the baby… mmm//

    🙂 I am never known for any soft feelings. Let us see if a child can change that. But I am following this suggestion to wait until I see the baby. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Too Posh to Push « The normal self

Leave a Reply

