38 years of debt

I generally do not ask my mother for anything. But later I complain that she didn’t care for me and she wasn’t there when I needed her. Now that I am pregnant I think it is her duty and my claim that she comes and slaves in my kitchen and waits on me. Nope, the unlucky me has to lose out this time as well, that my sis-in-law is also pregnant and my mother has to be there to slave in her kitchen and wait on her (which she has been doing otherwise also). 

Me being the eldest, the most responsible, the most selfless great soul, (I have no option is not a matter here), I let her stay there. I phoned her last week to ask whether she had lower back pain when she was pregnant. She said she could not remember that it has been long time since she was pregnant last time. Then she asked about my health and asked why I enquired about back pain. Then I had to tell her that I have been having back pain, I cannot bend to take things even from my coffee table etc etc.. She said that she will try to be here as soon as she gets her visa, until then I should believe in God that I will not have any problem/complication. I said fine. She never remembers that I am an atheist. She never remembered about my vegetarianism either, which I followed for 20 years! (broken since last year). So, I shook my head for her not caring me enough to remember my things and put the phone down. Few minutes later my brother phoned me enquiring about my back pain. He talked for hours thinking that I was very worried and I had to be given some reassuring words. Then I went to have shower. When I came out, there was already four missed calls in my mobile from my chithi and she was on the phone with Balan asking about my back pain problem. She insisted on talking to me (which I generally avoid) and talked for hours too. Apparently, my mother was worried and phoned and told everyone about her helpless condition that she couldn’t be here with me.

38 years of debt mother/chithi. Don’t think that this is going to tally the whole lot in one go.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Planethalder
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 19:32:35

    How lucky to have a family so concerned about your back pain 🙂 (Frustrating too I bet!)

    Reply

  2. mumbaigirl
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 21:07:05

    Hmm. maybe you shouldn’t be so selfless this time

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 09:18:53

    MG,
    I was being sarcastic. I guess I wasn’t successful.

    @Planethalder,
    They are one crazy lot, Planethalder.

    Reply

  4. mumbaigirl
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 19:20:37

    I know you were being sarcastic, but then you are being slefless by letting her stay there.

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 19:36:20

    ahh, nah. not me. She is comin (plan is being worked out). I will kill all those people if she stays there letting me suffer here. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Visitor
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 12:26:00

    38 years of debt mother/chithi.

    Who is indebted to whom? I didn’t quite follow…

    Reply

  7. Premalatha
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 12:44:33

    I am never indebted to anyone. 😉 (it didn’t even occur to me that I can be indebted too!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

