Bloated

My tummy looks too big and I have severe back pain. I can not walk for more than ten minutes. I can not bend and do things. For Godsake, I even breathe heavily when talking! I feel like I am fully pregnant. Midwife says, some do get it like this and it is the wind, she says!

I did not have perfectly flat tummy before, but it wasn’t too bad. After the laparoscopy it was bloated and was bigger all the time. But the doctors told me that for some people it may take few months to subside down. Ahh, the joy few got in seeing me disfigured! They did not miss a single chance to be nasty at me, I tellya. 🙂 Knowing how great I am ( 😉 ), I obviously forgave them, after all, their simple head didn’t give them a clue that they were actually flattering me by doing what they did. So I enjoyed. 🙂

Now, I am fully bloated. I do not know this is the laparoscopy gas still hasn’t subsided down, or it is simply the case of one type of pregnancy issue.  Anyway. It is Balan who suffers, as he has to do a lot of work himself. 

If any of the mommies who read this blog had similar problem, please give me tips. It will give me the I am not alone feeling first of all.  Thanks in advance.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mumbaigirl
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 04:50:49

    congratulations!!!!

    Reply

  2. Mouse
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 19:58:19

    Hi! Gas can be so very painful. There are a few things that may exascerbate gas and bloating during pregnancy. The biggest one being that your intestines are being pushed out of the way by your growing uterus and things need to find a new place for themselves before the gas settles down. If you’ve had an intense run up to the pregnancy (high emotions for whatever reason, stress, moving house, etc) then the internal muscles might still be tight and wound up, which makes it hard for the intestines to relax and ease into their new place.
    You could get a calcium/magnesium supplement to help relax the muscles (and the cal/mag would also be useful if you’re breastfeeding and the baby has gas). Cal/mag also relaxes muscles causing leg cramps, heartburn reflex (not heartburn itself, just the reflex) and general tension of the changing body posture and balance of pregnancy. You can get it as tablets, capsules and in liquid form. Of course you could ask your midwife whether she agrees it may be worth trying, since she’s getting to know you and your pregnancy much better than a stranger on the ‘net.

    (A bit of physiology — every muscle cell contracts and relaxes regularly. It requires cal/mag to relax/stretch after it contracted , and pregnancy can deplete the cal/mag present in the body. Taking a supplement will help your muscles relax and will re-establish the stores of cal/mag in your body.)

    You could eliminate common foods that are known to cause gas to see if it is caused or exascerbated by them. The most common culprits are cabbage, brussels sprouts brocoli, cauliflower, asparagus, onions and mushrooms (I had severe gas from onions and mushrooms) . Another big intestinal bully is dairy. If you have ramped up the use of dairy products during pregnancy, that may cause intestinal pain and a bogged down elimination, causing gas. If this is the case, the cal/mag supplement would eliminate your need for milk/dairy during pregnancy and you could replace it with soy or rice milk, or a lactose free milk. If you’ve changed cereals, see if there are any bran products in there that aren’t in your usual diet. Bran in combination with dairy can bog down the intestinal passage quite dramatically. If you’re taking bran to increase fiber intake, see if adding leafy greens and root vegetables instead may help. I became severely lactose intolerant during pregnancy. Even a few drops of milk in my tea would cause gas and alternating runs and constipation. Ouch! I replaced them with cal/mag and with non-dairy alternatives.

    You could try these few things. Eliminate the common culprits for a week or two to see if the gas eases up. Replace dairy with a non-dairy substitute and definitely research the benefits of calcium/magnesium.

    I hope that the gas and bloating and pain stops or at least becomes manageable. For some pregnant women it remains a mystery, and for some others it is the presence of progesterone that can cause it (much like getting bloated in the last few days before your period). But sometimes it’s the combination of progesterone (which cannot be changed) and something in the diet (which can be changed) and the body depleting the calcium and magnesium that is needed to relax the muscles.

    In the mean time, Congratulations on the pregnancy!

    ~Mouse

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 11:15:34

    @MG, Thanks.
    @Mouse,
    Thanks for such a detailed informative comment. I am trying the elimination process. The bloating is still there. but the backpain has gone down now. Hope it was the first trimester issue. The second trimester has started, so, I hoping things will change soon. thanks again.

    Reply

  4. R
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 16:13:59

    Many congratulations.. The second trimester does get better, you feel a lot less tired. This is the best part of the pregnancy..

    Reply

  5. Mouse
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 21:07:08

    You’re welcome, I hope you find it of some use. The second trimester usually does make pregnancy a whole lot more attractive.

    The bloating should soon make place for your expanding uterus popping up over your pubic bone. Also, make sure that you keep mentioning your back pain to your midwife. Make sure you keep up your water intake, and stay low on caffeinated drinks and processed sugary foods. If you quit drinking caffeinated drinks when you found out you were pregnant, then the low back pain may be due to withdrawal (they’re just not used to working hard if they had a constant source of caffeine) and the back pain should ease up continually as your body gets used to the new caffeine free condition.

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 12:18:13

    @R,
    Thanks. It is getting better. 🙂

    @Mouse,
    You are spot on. I used to drink too much coffee and now I have cut it down to one mug of weak coffee just in the morning, which also I am planning to reduce as much as I can (letting half of it go cold and throw it away..). So it must be the withdrawal thingy. Thanks for the info.

    I generally drink lot of water (read: all the time). It has gone up now. 🙂

    Second trimester has started (precisely from today).

    Thanks for commenting here. Please comment until my child goes to Uni. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Mouse
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 19:36:47

    I’ll be happy to pop in now and again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

