Infertility myths

1. Drinking coffee can cause infertility –  myth.

Truth – caffeine can cause miscarriage. You may not even get to know you were pregnant if the miscarriage happened before the expected periods day. 4 mugs of coffee is a potential miscarriage inducer during first trimester.

info on me: I was drinking at least 6 mugs of coffee a day.

2. Gaviscon (Gelusil) causes infertility – myth

Truth – It has nothing to do with fertility/infertility.

info on me: A proud mother commented the above statement at me after asking tips to help her husband with his heartburn problems. She asked. I just told her how I handled my hearburn problem.  After knowing that I am old and have no child, she passed that above comment at me. I froze at her cruel imagination! And, this was our first meeting!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coy
    Jun 13, 2007 @ 18:37:40

    Wow. Some people are lacking in the manners department. I sometimes want to club their heads for being rude and thoughtless. Sorry to hear you have to endure that.

    Reply

  2. B o o.
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 14:53:05

    Latha, We are pleased to inform that you have been awarded the Thinking Blogger Award by Boo and please do us the honor by kindly accepting the award from here: http://boosbabytalk.blogspot.com/2007/06/and-awards-go-to.html

    Reply

  3. mumbaigirl
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 22:09:12

    What insolence.

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jun 16, 2007 @ 09:40:34

    Some people are so thick! I had a few “helpful” people tell me why I’d had a miscarriage. All of their ideas were myth, but it still freaked me out.

    Interesting about the coffee! That is a new one I didn’t know, but I never drink more than two cups a day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

