Failure moments

Was there any outcome I aimed in that (any) particular encounter? What did I achieve in that (any) particular encounter?

I was not wrong, I know. However, I have to admit that I failed there. A total failure with a total negative outcome however unintentional/unwanted aim (rather lack of any aim) it was.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. B o o.
    Dec 19, 2006 @ 17:33:36

    Latha – I dont know the context of course but I can relate to such moments! But how can you fail when you did nt have any aim in the first place? So there was some expectation after all? I think the failure is not because of the outcome but because of the reaction of the other person we have those encounters with? No? Have I confused too much? Ignore my comment. Just wanted to say I found a meaning of my own in your words though it might not be the same you meant to convey! Off I go before I go crazy in your comment space…

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Dec 19, 2006 @ 18:00:28

    boo, read the next post. i will be with you in a minute.

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Dec 19, 2006 @ 18:18:57

    LOL.

    Boo,
    I am reading a book. I will get back to that book later.
    regarding your comment,
    the reaction of the other person is the outcome (in my case too).

    Let us say i got angry and lost it. let us say i don’t have to care about it, if i didn’t have any aim. i didn’t have any interest (I don’t care about) in getting a different reaction (as opposed to what happened) from the other person. We can say then why bother. but, no, everything has an effect on us. some grooming/shaping or atleast how I am going to react to another person after five minutes in a totally different situation. It is unfair on this new person. or it is unfair on me for ruining my mood that day.

    The failure is that I could have handled it differently bringing out a different kind of reaction from that person so that it went unaffecting me and my reaction towards another person after five minutes. So, it was a failure. 🙂

    I went angry and showed my finger (not literally, not in office) in one situation. :)) The aim should have been “ignore”. 🙂

    anyway, the book I am reading is “dealing with difficult people”. as I have to deal with some real difficult people in office. That includes my manager, my equal-level-colleagues and my team members. I have to apply different strategy towards these three levels of people, different approach towards every single individual and I have to come across as a “consistent” /unbiased (remember the racism issues) person!!! I cannot get away with showing my finger attitude which I have been enjoying all these years. My brother and Balan tell me that I am “working” for the first time! :)) And I honestly feel that I am “growing up” for the first time.

    Regarding you finding a meaning of your own, ensaai. :))

    Reply

  4. Premalatha
    Dec 19, 2006 @ 18:34:34

    The book says that as I start handling them differently without letting the situation affect me, reaction of the other person might surprise us, such as they might even start seeing our point of “discussion”/arguement/whatever or even they might agree!!

    Reply

  5. Vidya
    Dec 20, 2006 @ 16:59:00

    Life has such bitter moments. And sometimes they just keep coming.. Been there.. many times and I still havent learnt how to handle them 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

