Down’s syndrome

from here:

scientists do know that women age 35 and older have a significantly higher risk of having a child with the condition. At age 30, for example, a woman has less than a 1 in 1,000 chance of conceiving a child with DS. Those odds increase to 1 in 400 by age 35. By 42, it jumps to about 1 in 60.

from FAQ given here:

Down Syndrome is a genetic condition caused by extra genetic material (genes) from the 21st chromosome. The extra genes cause certain characteristics that we know as Down syndrome. Individuals with Down Syndrome also have all the other genes given to them by their parents. As a result, they have a combination of features typical of Down Syndrome on top of the individual features from their parents. This includes some degree of mental retardation, or cognitive disability and other developmental delays. Some of the physical traits that are common but not always present are epicanthal folds over the eyes, flattened bridge of the nose, a single palmar crease and decreased muscle tone.


There are so many organisations and helps one can get, such as:

Down’s Syndrome Association

Wiki on DS

A google will give an idea how much help one can get.

  

The most important question at this point is to decide whether to keep the baby or to have it aborted, if and when one finds out that their child is going to be a DS child.  I am not a senti type, so I would rather prepare myself to face the question instead of leaving it as “it won’t happen to us” and face it when it happens, if it happens.

In UK, the doctors make us well aware of all the possibilities and difficulties and also let us know what is the legality behind everything, such as the legal time until when we have the choice to have it aborted. After that, we don’t have a say.

from here:

Many people have very strong views and opinions about abortion (both for and against), often based on deeply held religious, cultural or philosophical beliefs.  Whilst all of these views should be respected, the law in the UK (1) makes it legal to have an abortion in the first 24 weeks of pregnancy providing certain criteria are met (see next section).

and

  • continuing with the pregnancy would be a greater risk to the woman’s life than would ending the pregnancy,
  • continuing with the pregnancy would involve a greater risk of injury to the woman’s physical or mental health than would ending the pregnancy,
  • continuing with the pregnancy would be more of a risk to the physical or mental health of any of the woman’s existing children, or
  • there is a real risk that the child, if born, would have a serious physical or mental disability.

Doctors let us aware of all the information, including the emotional problem we are going to face if we find out the child is a DS child, so they offer a choice to have or not have the test (tripple test) done in the first place.  Screening tests followed by a diagnostic tests will  be carried out as a normal procedure for every pregnant woman, but we will be given a choice to undergo the tests or not. Some people do not want to  know

     

I have seen when a doctor briefs this info on the 15-22 weeks of pregnancy, it usually scares the parent. But info are given to all pregnant women and choices are explained to them, irrespective of mother’s age.

   

info file on me:

  • not pregnant yet.
  • I have decided not to  keep, if my child turns out to be a DS child.
9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dadoji
    Nov 27, 2006 @ 09:26:33

    I remember the briefing. It didn’t scare us at all and the nurse was quite surprised at talking to a desi couple who could talk the medical lingo with her.

    Reply

  2. Vidya
    Nov 27, 2006 @ 19:54:01

    An excellent post. A very clinical approach to the subject. I liked the way you had written the whole thing. And yes, I do understand the sentiment part on having/not having the baby with DS.

    But personally I feel the trauma of bringing up a DS child is worse than no child or not having that child at all.

    My 2 cents.

    Reply

  3. Premalatha
    Nov 28, 2006 @ 07:45:58

    Hi Vidya,

    But personally I feel the trauma of bringing up a DS child is worse than no child or not having that child at all.

    That is why I have decided not to keep it, if it turns out to be a DS child.

    The info is for others.

    Thanks for your comment/compliment on my post. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Vidya
    Nov 28, 2006 @ 17:02:47

    I stumbled upon your blog from some answers that you had written to Graham Hancock, where I had gone from the Ponniyin Selvan groups webpage. (So much for how I got here… anyways)

    I enjoyed reading many of your posts. But the one called HUNGRY was really too good. Brought some wonderful memories that were left behind because of my granny. What wonderful creatures God created in them and I sometimes feel that they were our angels in this world who took care of us so well. The way she had a special song for me, so many different ways to call me and made me feel so unique.. God! you brought back a lot of memories and made my eyes watery!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts for us to read! Yet to explore it fully! 🙂

    You and Michelle have come out with some good writing between the two of you.

    Reply

  5. Premalatha
    Nov 28, 2006 @ 21:15:24

    Hi Vidya,
    I would like to know more about which post of mine did you read (about GH) and where (hallofmaat or GH’s site?)

    I have more posts in maat which I can refer to you and discuss with you, if you like to continue those discussion, that is.

    I am pleased to know that you like my posts. Sure take your time to read all of them.

    Thank you. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Nov 28, 2006 @ 21:16:49

    Dadoji Boss,

    Will reply to all your comments shortly. Do comment more 😉
    🙂
    (I have been reading your blog, but didn’t comment. I will come there shortly too. 🙂 )

    See ya.

    Reply

  7. Vidya
    Nov 29, 2006 @ 21:16:04

    Yes, I was refering to the one on GH’s site and read some from MAAT. If possible, do refer me to some posts. I love reading anything about history especially from the 5th to the 14th century tamil nadu. Been visiting your blog a lot these days. And am not bored yet. 🙂 Good Writing!

    Reply

  8. Premalatha
    Dec 04, 2006 @ 07:41:12

    Hi Vidya,

    I will send you the links for those posts in maat and GH’s site. In the mean time, read this one, which has some links to maat. https://thenormalself.wordpress.com/2006/02/04/mesmerising-mallai/

    Thanks for your words. You are very kind.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: சுயதம்பட்டம் « கோம்பை

Leave a Reply

