How to break a coconut

Good question. I totally went blank on how to explain it. My work-friend stunned me with her stories and suggestion from her friends. 1)Keep it in the cven for sometime and it will break (did it not explode in there?) 2) drill a hole using power drill (laughed my heart out). I suggested to use a hammer or a spanner and explained the procedure to break a coconut. I wasn’t going to suggest them to buy a sickle (aruval sickle thaane?). Then came the next question, what to do with the shell? how to remove it. Yes, that is a question difficult to answer. Now I know why that woman the other day was looking at me the way she was when i was selecting a coconut in the sainsburys. I think I will skip the “checking and selecting the coconut” part to the poor girl who asked me the title question. It is too much.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dadoji
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 12:14:00

    Actually, breaking a coconut is easy if one is not interested in the coconut-water. Just remove all the fibres outside and bang the coconut at the centre on the edge of a stone if one doesn’t have a sickle. The sharper the edge the better the split. If it is banged down in the middle of the stone it won’t cut open properly.

    What to do once it is cut open is a more difficult question to answer. There is actually no better alternative to scraping unless one is able to use the cocounut after breaking it into a million pieces and then grate it in a food processor.

    Checking the coconut – it is important yaar. Tell her to shake it and listen to the water inside. The more the water the better the coconut. She will not be able to use the tap-listen method if she doesn’t know how.

    Reply

  2. Visitor
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 09:26:52

    Indian chopper might be a more appropriate name for aruval. A sickle is really a ‘kathir aruval’ meant for harvesting rice etc. The difference is in the weight and the purposes for which it is used.
    Aruval is meant for heavy duty chopping of wood, breaking coconuts etc. Of course the aruval is sickle shaped (crescent shaped with a handle).

    If you dont have an aruval, a good way to break coconuts is use any hard keen edged stone (stone step/platform) or metal object and bang the coconut cross-wise on the sharp edge. Banging the coconut on the ribs of the coconut gives 2 clean cut halves with regular edges.

    I felt that I was writing a scientific paper! LOL

    This is to make up for my lapse in not commenting!

    Reply

  3. premalatha
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 09:28:32

    what is sickle in tamil then?

    I know sickle is the one we used to use to harvest rice, grass (I have used myself). I have also handled aruval to break coconut.

    Reply

  4. Visitor
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 09:44:26

    kathir aruval

    Reply

  5. Visitor
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 09:46:56

    I looked up dictionary.com – apart from the normal use for cutting crops a sickle was also used in wars Sickle

    Reply

  6. vasudha
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 21:00:52

    well..i use the blunt side of my chef’s knife…and keep hitting it over the kitchen sink..until it breaks..works great..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

