Loss and Gain

I have lost one reader (Michelle) when I gained her as the other contributor. I was feeling a bit down since then, because, she was the only regular reader I have had,….Well, well, until today. There was this email waiting in my inbox saying that how nice my post was. My post on Diwali made Sudha miss her Diwali. She wants to go home… Hope she enjoys a nice, home Diwali, unlike ours. Anyway, the point is, my blog has atleast three regular readers, that is, if Sudha stays a regular.. (so much pressure on you Sudha:) ).

On this popular demand, I am going to continue blogging. Soon, there will be posts by Michelle to break the monotony of young-premalatha’s “jumping”s. πŸ™‚

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sudha
    Oct 25, 2005 @ 20:14:00

    I am probably not going home for another year or more. Keep posting …maybe I will end up going home sooner :-).

    Reply

  2. Premalatha
    Oct 25, 2005 @ 21:29:00

    I am sorry Sudha. I think you do not live in UK. but if you do live here, you are welcome to join us for Diwali.

    Reply

  3. sudha
    Oct 25, 2005 @ 22:11:00

    hEy !

    No worries , Thank you so much for making me remember Diwali the way I really like it. Back home , with the early morning bath and new clothes and crackers….hmm… the smell of crackers and the temporary deafness from hearing them go non-stop, kolam drawing, all the seedai and murukku, everyone at home , going to the temple and all streets being full of paper shreds from the crackers or sizzling with smoke , etc…

    yes, i am not from uk, but thank you for ur invite!

    Reply

  4. Chakra Sampath
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 09:50:00

    Count one more to the list.. I am also a regular here, though I don’t comment much.

    Reply

  5. Dubukku
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 11:46:00

    Count me as well. I have commented here before. (but yet to receive the payment for those comment send them soon will flood with more πŸ˜› )

    Reply

  6. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 12:36:00

    Hi chakra and dubukku,

    Thanks. Just looking for some reassurance. lol.

    πŸ™‚

    (dubukku, no money!!)

    Reply

  7. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 16:42:00

    Hi Sudha,

    >Thank you so much for making me >remember Diwali the way I really >like it.

    It is my pleasure. I always remembered Diwali exactly how I have described here. I still can picture my brother laughing and myself in new clothes, dark early morning, chiththappa encouraging me to lit crackers, and we enjoying our Diwali.

    >the smell of crackers and the >temporary deafness from hearing >them go non-stop, kolam drawing, >all the seedai and murukku, >everyone at home , going to the >temple and all streets being full >of paper shreds from the crackers >or sizzling with smoke , etc…

    πŸ™‚ yes. paper shreds. smoky crackers and that temp-deafness. wow. it would be nice to see them all again.

    no seedai or murukku in my house. mother is a very very bad cook. we used to prepare murukku only when myself or mama went to hostel. no temple on Diwali for me. it was always newly released movie in Pannaipuram (Ilayaraja’s hometown) cinima hall. I know I had a very bad upbringing.:) Again, there is a big story about that kolam thing. I should write that once. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. sudha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 17:56:00

    hi latha,
    I dont remember my mother making seedai in the last 15 years. It was when I was very young and she was healthy. She lost her good health when she was around 30 years old itself. The temple was an integral part of my upbringing because of my grandparents being very devout Vaishnavites. I infact have felt deprived many times since they would never let me go watch a movie in a theatre. My dad used to take me sometimes and then afterward I remember a long period of time, after my mom fell ill, when there was no new movies at all. I started seeing movies in theatres when I went to college with my friends …either with / without my parents knowledge. But after all the temple exposure , certain experiences in life have made me feel more agnostic recently. Anyways, back to your post, u mentioned the early morning darkness when you described it , that is another instance of your good narrative skills I was mentioning about. You should write more ! I am waiting for the kolam story.

    Reply

  9. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 18:26:00

    Hi sudha,

    I am sorry about your mother’s illness. How is she doing now?

    I am from Madurai area, you know the area known for craziness for movies. people there don’t eat but watch all sort of movies. I have not missed even vittalacharaya movies (do you know who he is? the magic movie guy. Jehan mohini was directed by him. People say that he needed only two to three days from his hero, as he generally made the hero to become goat and snake for the best part of the movie. lol. )

    I am an aethist myself. (my family are strong believers but not like yours. we are not brahmins. I think you are Iyengar. If not, I apologise for assuming.) I don’t know when did I actually start disbelieving in God, but it was very very early. When I was small I related few such things to my “studying girl” (meaning educatedness). They were 1) not eating beetle leaves, (I love them actually), 2) not believing in God, 3) not believing in castism (my thaththa’s first question to a newly introduced person used to be about his/her caste. I hated that), 4) arguing with parents 4) not respecting elders just because they are older than you…. (lol. I was a very very bad girl). I was surprised and couldn’t really comprehend my class mates in college, going to temples and praying to God. honest. I couldn’t really understand how a college going person can go to temple. πŸ™‚

    anyway,

    kolam thing is not really a good one. I will try my best. but, I think it will be different for you. As we didn’t do kolam in our houses.

    Reply

  10. sudha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 18:44:00

    hi latha,
    as far as your guess is concerned, i am not an iyengar, i am a telugu brought up entirely in tamil nadu. and , only my mother’s parents were vaishnavites in belief . my father and his parents beleived in all hindu deities. I used to argue a lot with my parents too and same goes for respecting elders. i have changed a lot so much though …that I recollected how i used to be only when i read some of your posts. my childhood was very similar to yours in a lot of respects.. which is why i am more interested in reading more of your posts.

    Reply

  11. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 18:55:00

    as far as your guess is concerned, i am not an iyengar, i am a telugu brought up entirely in tamil nadu.

    Sorry about my assumption. (I guess I just did my “Thaththa”:)) It is interesting fact Telugu-tamils were very religeous groups. very conservative too. I can understand the environment in which you grew up.

    and , only my mother’s parents were vaishnavites in belief . my father and his parents beleived in all hindu deities. I used to argue a lot with my parents too and same goes for respecting elders. i have changed a lot so much though …

    Hope you like the change and the change is good. πŸ™‚

    that I recollected how i used to be only when i read some of your posts. my childhood was very similar to yours in a lot of respects.. which is why i am more interested in reading more of your posts.

    Sure I will post more. πŸ™‚ I am glad you like them. I am glad they bring you some good childhood memories.

    Reply

  12. Premalatha
    Oct 26, 2005 @ 20:28:00

    Hi Sudha,

    Hope I have not affended you in anyway. My intention was to tell you that I am not a brahmin. that is all.

    anyway, I have written Koalm. Hope you like it. I have added few pictures of kolam, in case my posting is too different from what you expected, atleast these pictures will help me meet your expectation of bringing your memories back:)

    Reply

  13. sudha
    Oct 27, 2005 @ 01:58:00

    illai illai illave illai ….! neenga onnum pannala…and thanks for posting the kolam post so soon. πŸ™‚ really looking fwd to getting to know you more ..!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

